logo-vertical logo-horizontal logo-horizontal-condensed circle circle car-accident drug-medical motorcycle personal-injury scales truck-accident wrongful-death brand ion-android-arrow-back ion-android-arrow-down ion-android-arrow-forward ion-android-arrow-up ion-android-close ion-android-menu ion-chatbox-working ion-ios-arrow-back ion-ios-arrow-down ion-ios-arrow-forward ion-ios-arrow-up ion-ios-telephone ion-social-facebook ion-social-googleplus ion-social-twitter ion-social-youtube Skip to Content
Brooks Law Group
Menu
1-800-LAW-3030
Contact Us Now
Close
We’re Here to Answer Your Call 24/7
1-800-LAW-3030

Brooks Law Legal Blog

Suggested Insurance Coverage for Motorcycle Owners

Categories:Motorcycle Accidents

The most common misconception by motorcycle owners is they believe they will be covered by their auto insurance or by the other driver’s insurance if they are involved in a motorcycle accident. In Florida, insurance is not required for the owner and/or rider of a motorcycle. However, you are required to have $10,000 in Med Pay coverage if you are under the age of 21 or do not wear a helmet. When you are over the age of 21, coverage for drivers or riders can be provided by a health insurance policy or medical payment coverage on a motorcycle policy.

You are required to have Property Damage and Bodily Injury insurance IF:

  • You were found to be at fault for a previous accident where injuries occurred. Florida Statute, 324.021
  • Your license or registration was revoked or suspended for any reason including (but not limited to) a serious offense (driving or no-driving), a Driving while Intoxicated or a Driving Under the influence conviction, motor vehicle violations, and failure to pay a civil judgment due to a motor vehicle accident. Florida Statue, 324.023

Brooks Law Group recommends you get Motorcycle Insurance in the following amounts:

  1. Med Pay
    • None required unless you qualify under one of the exception categories (mentioned on the previous page)
    • Minimum Advised – $10,000
  2. PD Insurance
    • None required unless you qualify under one the exception categories (mentioned on the previous page)
    • Minimum Advised – $10,000
    • Required if you qualify under one of the Florida Statute 324.011 exception categories – $10,000 minimum for property damage
  3. BI (Bodily Injury)
    • None required unless you qualify under one the exception categories (mentioned on the previous page)
    • Strongly advised – $100,000 for bodily injury or death to one person and $300,000 for bodily injury or death to two or more people; or more if possible
    • Required if you call into one exception categories: a minimum of $10,000 for bodily injury or death to one person and $20,000 for bodily injury or death to two or more people
  4. UM (Uninsured Motorist or Underinsured Motorist)
    • None required
    • Strongly Advised – $100,000/$300,000; or more if possible
    • Minimum Advised – $10,000 (however, if you are in an accident this would maybe cover 1 day in the hospital…MAYBE).

For more information about Motorcycle Accidents, Insurance Coverage for Motorcycle Owners and Riding Tips in Florida, you can request a free copy of our consumer guide titled: Florida Motorcycle Accidents, located on the front page of our website in the Consumer Guides box.

Tampa
2002 5th Avenue, Unit 101Tampa, FL 33605
(813) 242-9200
Lakeland
625 Commerce Drive, Ste 203Lakeland, FL 33813
863-937-9219
Winter Haven
123 First Street NWinter Haven, FL 33881
863-299-1962
Winter Haven
1401 Havendale Blvd NWWinter Haven, FL 33881
863-299-1962